Executive Committee

The executive committee is an elected representative body. Its members are all experienced professionals who have gained knowledge of hospice volunteer management, and are currently working in organisations that provide palliative care services. Committee work is an addition to their normal employment and requires attendance at a minimum of six meetings a year.

The committee is responsible for the management of the association, the maintaining and updating of the AVSM constitution, terms of reference, business and strategic planning. Minutes of all committee activity and meetings held are available in the Executive Committee Meetings section in the Members Area.

Carole Snow

Russell Cowan, Chair 

Head of Volunteer Resources, St Peter’s Hospice, Bristol

HOSPICE STAFF MARCH2016 – Gillian Austin

Gillian Austin, Deputy Chair

Head of Volunteering

The Hospice of St Francis

Starkey Su

Su Starkey, Secretary 

Head of Voluntary Services

Prospect Hospice

John Johnson

John Johnson, Treasurer

Volunteer Services Manager

Kirkwood Hospice

Jenn Bird

Jennifer Bird, Regional Development Forum Chair

Head of Volunteering

Thames Hospice


Linda Wood, Member

Voluntary Services Manager

Isabel Hospice


Rachel Stewart, Membership Secretary

Volunteer Development Manager

Dorothy House Hospice Care


Peter Nesbitt, Member

Volunteering Development Manager

St Catherine’s Hospice

How to Get Involved?

Executive Committee members can be co-opted on to the board at any time during the year and will officially stand for election at the Annual Conference. If you are interested in finding out more about the Executive Committee or would be interested in joining the team, then please contact us.

Become an AVSM member today